The 23rd Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM) of the Irish Pain Society (IPS) took place on the 20th and 21st of October at the Western Gateway Building, University College Cork. In addition to the excellent range of talks, discussions, and workshops, researchers across Ireland were provided with the opportunity to present their research in both short oral and poster format. We congratulate all of the presenters and commend the high level of multidisciplinary pain research being conducted across Ireland. A number of prizes were awarded at the meeting and as such we would like to acknowledge and congratulate again the following winners.

Best Clinical Short Oral: Natasha Hinwood, University College Dublin

Title: Multidimensional pain profiling in people living with obesity: an interim analysis of baseline data for a longitudinal cohort study.

Best Non-Clinical Short Oral: Catherine Healy, University of Galway

Title: Sex dimorphism in pain-related behaviour in the rat hindlimb ischemia reperfusion model and associated alterations in the endocannabinoid system.

Dr Hugh Raftery Prize: Ahmed Abdelaziz & Mohammad Soliman, South Infirmary Victoria University Hospital and Cork University Hospital.

Title: A service evaluation of an intrathecal delivery service in Cork

Best Clinical Poster (NCHD): Sarah Coffee, South Infirmary Victoria University Hospital

Title: Improving intern knowledge for acute, post-operative analgesia prescribing in an elective surgical setting.

Best Clinical Poster (non-NCHD): Emily Byrne, South Infirmary Victoria University Hospital and Cork University Hospital.

Title: Opioid prescribing for acute non-cancer pain, post-operative pain and post procedure pain by surgical teams at Cork University Hospital: 1 day audit.

Best Non-Clinical Poster: Felesha Roach, University College Dublin.

Title: Understanding post-transcriptional regulatory mechanism important for chronic pain

Runner up Poster Prize: Orla Flynn, University College Dublin.

Title: Migraine in university students – the lived experience

Prizewinners at the IPS ASM 2023: Left to right, front row: Sarah Coffee (South Infirmary Victoria University Hospital), Dr. Brona Fullen (accepting for Ms Orla Flynn, UCD), Felesha Roach (UCD), Catherine Healy (University of Galway); Back row: Dr. Therese O’Connor (Outgoing President of IPS), Dr. Damian Murphy (Presented the Prizes), Natasha Hinwood (UCD), Dr. Cormac Mullins (accepting for Dr Emily Byrne), Dr Ahmed Abdelaziz & Dr Mohammad Soliman (all from South Infirmary Victoria University Hospital and Cork University Hospital).